Uprgrade question

gsg

I have been playing a Blessing b-125 for a few yrs and am in need of an up grade 

I need advice what to get that is under 500$

with so many options on the internet Im overwelmed 

Thank u

Edited by gsg

My best suggestion (and you should consider others as well) is to find an Olds Special, the nickel-silver/brass one with the bronze bell flare.  An image can be found here: http://rouses.net/trumpet/olds66/specialtpt.htm  .  IMO it has no vices, intonation is decent, as is the sound.  Olds brass instruments earned a reputation for durability and for excellent valves.  Olds also committed to the appearance of their horns; they designed visual appeal into every horn, not a bad thing at all.  It has a relatively bright sound, which is fine, but if you want a darker sound, the Olds Special will respond nicely to a deeper mouthpiece.  Although some consider this model to be an intermediate-level instrument, there are players who have used it professionally who would dispute this characterization.  

Be careful to look for one that has not been molested, has a decent finish, and one that has good valve compression.  It's not too hard to find one that meets these specifications.  Be aware that, although almost all you find will have at least acceptable compression, if you end up with one that doesn't, you'll be looking spending about $450 to make things right.  If you find a good one and for some reason this model doesn't fit you or suit you, rest assured that you can recover your investment by reselling it.

What are you looking for in a trumpet? I agree with Jericho, try before you buy. Olds Special is an excellent recommendation. 

My suggestion would be a Getzen 700 Eterna silver plated trumpet, not the Getzen Sp model. Early models were known as the Doc Severson model. It has a 1st slide thumb ring and 3rd slide adjustable ring and Amado waterkeys. 

If you buy a used trumpet, replace the springs, felts and corks as needed.